Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) has provided funding to establish 14  Health Protection Research Units (HPRU) to address key public health threats. The HPRUs are partnerships between Universities and UK Health Security Agency forming multi-disciplinary centers of excellence with a focus on collaborations and knowledge sharing.

NIHR HPRU in Healthcare Associate Infections and Antimicrobial Resistance was established at University of Oxford in April 2014 and was renewed in April 2020 for a further 5 years. Key collaborators are The European Bioinformatics Institute, University of Leeds and Animal and Plant Health Agency.

The HPRU Director at Oxford University is Professor Sarah Walker. Our vision is to find better ways to manage and prevent threats from antimicrobial resistance and healthcare-associated infections, by detecting them faster, working out who needs protecting most and how this can be done. It consists of 4 broad Research Themes:

(1)   Populations

(2)   Interventions

(3)   Context

(4)   Sequencing

To find our more information, please visit our HPRU website.